If you are a USAPA member, you receive the Monthly e-Newsletter. Each month they cover so many great topics and I would strongly urge you to join the USAPA to help promote the sport.
Here is one of the questions/answers that was covered a few months ago and I thought it would benefit the group.
No Dumb Questions: Portable Net Crossbar Call…
Kelly Painter, USAPA ambassador in Fountain Valley, Calif., presents the following question. “A struck ball hit the top of the USAPA portable net, fell to the opposite side and caromed off the net system’s horizontal crossbar before going out of bounds. Although the group consensus was an “out” call, we replayed the point. What is the official call?
The answer can be found in IFP Rule 12.J.5., which states:When net systems have a horizontal bar that may include a center base: If the ball hits the horizontal bar or the center base before going over the net, it is a fault. If the ball goes over the net and then hits the horizontal bar, the ball is still in play. If the ball goes over the net and then hits the center base or the ball gets caught between the net and the horizontal bar before touching the court, it is a let and must be replayed.
Kelly, the answer to your question is covered by the second explanation: If the ball goes over the net and then hits the horizontal bar, the ball is still in play. The ball going out of bounds after striking the horizontal bar is the same as being hit directly out of bounds.
The official USAPA Rules can be viewed at www.usapa.org/officialrules/.
See you on the courts!